Event series "Saarbrücken Panel on Europe"


In cooperation with two strong partners, the Saarland Chamber of Industry and Commerce and the Europa-Institut of Saarland University, the foundation initiated the event series "Saarbrücken Panel on Europe" in 2019. Renowned speakers debate current European issues of immediate relevance for Saarland and the Greater Region at panel discussions, which are the central component of several theme nights organized throughout the year and at a central venue.

Event Series "Saarbrücker Europa-Runde" (Saarbrücken Panel on Europe)

Our next "Saarbrücken ONLINE Panel on Europe: On June 1 at 12 p.m., Prof. Dr. Christoph Schalast, Attorney | Notary | Managing Partner at Schalast Rechtsanwälte Notare, will speak as alumni on "Shell companies, investment shells and SPACs in Europe: fashion, boom or portent?"
Registration


Previous events from the series

2021
"Transatlantic security relations - institutional and political challenges" was the title of the online lecture by Dr. Christian von Buttlar LL.M. (NATO Headquarters, Brussels) on February 23, 2021, which marked the start of a lecture series as part of the 70th anniversary of the Europa-Institut at Saarland University.
On March 30, the focus was on "Financial innovation and digital assets from a regulatory perspective", also as part of the Europa-Institut's anniversary lecture series. Rupert Schaefer, Member of the Executive Board, Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority FINMA, gave an online presentation on current regulatory mechanisms of the financial market in the digital age.
On April 20, Christophe Arend, member of the French National Assembly, exchanged views with Thilo Ziegler, media entrepreneur, Presented for people GmbH, Saarbrücken, on the topic "Pandemic as a catalyst for cross-border cooperation?". The discussion focused on the analysis of the current situation and the related challenges of cross-border cooperation in the context of the Corona pandemic. The talk, which was followed by 30 online participants, was moderated by Susanne Freitag-Carteron, head of the ZDF regional studio in Saarbrücken

2020
In 2020, due to Corona, a first online panel was held under the headline "Energy competition between Europe and the USA". Dr. Josef Braml, former head of the Americas Program at the German Council on Foreign Relations in Berlin, and Werner Ott, former vice president of the German-American Chamber of Commerce in Chicago, discussed existing social, political and geo-economic developments on both sides of the Atlantic with their impact on the European economy and the energy sector in particular.

2019
In 2019, three panels with selected experts and numerous representatives from business, science and society took place in the Saalbau of the Saarland Chamber of Commerce and Industry. The main topics were Brexit, the European elections and trade relations between the USA and Europe.

Mit zwei starken Kooperationspartnern, der IHK Saarland und dem Europa-Institut der Universität des Saarlandes, initiierte die Stiftung im Jahr 2019 die Veranstaltungsreihe "Saarbrücker Europa-Runde". In mehreren über das Jahr verteilten Themenabenden in Form von Podiumsdiskussionen mit namhaften Referent:innen, an einem zentralen Veranstaltungsort, stehen aktuelle europäische Themen mit unmittelbarem Bezug zum Saarland und der Großregion im Fokus.

Veranstaltungsreihe "Saarbrücker Europa-Runde"

Unsere nächste Saarbrücker ONLINE Europa-Runde:
Am 1. Juni um 12 Uhr spricht Prof. Dr. Christoph Schalast,  Rechtsanwalt | Notar | Managing Partner bei Schalast Rechtsanwälte Notare, als Alumni des Europa-Instituts der Universität des Saarlandes, zu "Börsenmäntel, Beteiligungshüllen und SPACs in Europa: Mode, Boom oder Menetekel?"
Anmeldung

 


Bisherige Veranstaltungen aus der Reihe

2021
„Transatlantic security relations – institutional and political challenges“, so der Titel des Online-Vortrags von Dr. Christian von Buttlar LL.M. (NATO-Hauptquartier, Brüssel) am 23. Februar 2021. Er bildete den Auftakt einer Vortragsreihe im Rahmen des 70-jährigen Jubiläums des Europa-Instituts der Universität des Saarlandes.
Am 30. März stand das Thema "Financial innovation and digital assets from a regulatory perspective" im Fokus, ebenfalls im Rahmen der Jubiläums-Vortragsreihe des Europa-Instituts. Rupert Schaefer, Member of the Executive Board, Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority FINMA, referierte online über aktuelle Regulierungsmechanismen des Finanzmarktes im digitalen Zeitalter.
Am 20. April tauschte sich Christophe Arend, Abgeordneter der französischen Nationalversammlung, mit Thilo Ziegler, Medienunternehmer, Presented for people GmbH, Saarbrücken, zum Thema "Pandemie als Katalysator der grenzüberschreitenden Kooperation?" aus. Der Fokus ihrer Diskussion lag auf der Analyse der aktuellen Situation und den damit verbundenen Herausforderungen der grenzüberschreitenden Kooperation im Rahmen der Corona-Pandemie. Durch die Talkrunde, der 30 Online-Teilnehmer:innen folgten, führte Susanne Freitag-Carteron, Leiterin des ZDF Landesstudios Saarbrücken.

2020
2020 wurde Corona-bedingt ein erstes Online-Podium in dieser Reihe unter der Headline „Energiewettbewerb zwischen Europa und USA“ durchgeführt. Dr. Josef Braml, ehemals Leiter des Amerika-Programms bei der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Auswärtige Politik in Berlin und Werner Ott, ehemaliger Vizepräsident der Deutsch-Amerikanischen Handelskammer in Chicago, erörterten bestehende soziale, politische und geoökonomische Entwicklungen auf beiden Seiten des Atlantiks mit ihren Auswirkungen auf die europäische Wirtschaft und insbesondere den Energiesektor.

2019
Im Jahr 2019 fanden im Saalbau der IHK Saarland drei Podien mit ausgewählten Expert:innen und zahlreichen Vertreter:innen aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft statt. Themenschwerpunkte waren der Brexit, die Europawahlen sowie die Handelsbeziehungen zwischen den USA und Europa.